Put A Giraffe On It

Today I tackle one of the toughest deepest questions that young people find themselves facing. It’s a question of identity. It’s a question of fashion. It’s a question of androgynous hair styles and Pabst Blue Ribbon.

Am I a hipster?

All the questioning began after a grueling six-hour marathon shopping event with my friend Millie at the mall. I knew I had to own this dress when I saw it. There are giraffes on it! Who could possibly say no to that? But a certain word kept lurking around the tip of my tongue when I looked at the dress: hipster.

In the past, I have been a little judgmental of hipsters. Maybe it’s because they don’t even need their glasses for seeing. Or maybe it’s because they find out about all the cool music before I do. Maybe I’m mad that they are hogging all the thrift store dressing rooms. But maybe I am a hipster in denial and it’s all just envy. Dear readers, let me present the facts to you and hear your opinions:

-I had a lot of fun dressing up for this photo. I even wore the outfit out to the store. But I did not buy cheap beer at the store.

-I have black-rimmed glasses, but they actually have prescription lenses.

-I love Bright Eyes and The Strokes, but I also love Lady Gaga and LMFAO.

-Kurt Vonnegut is one of my favorite authors, but I love Harry Potter and Twilight.

-I love shopping at thrift stores, but it’s mostly because I am just cheap.

-I have attended more than one mustache party.

-I own animal print skinny jeans.

-I rarely straighten my hair.

So, am I a hipster or just a nerd? Maybe the line between them is not that clear…

4 thoughts on “Put A Giraffe On It

  1. I always thought you had a very hipster style! Well, I should say hipsters have a very Sarah style, because you did it first.

    But other than the clothes, you’re not much of a hipster at all.

    Awesome outfit 🙂 I’m a huge LMFAO fan, too!

Leave a Reply

