The Engagement Story

As far as I knew, our weekend trip was just the annual camping trip we take for Jared’s birthday. For the past few years, we’ve gone up to Mt. Hardy in Middle Prong Wilderness. It’s a gorgeous grassy mountain with amazing views and few other people.

Our bags were packed heavy with essentials like food, clothes, and wine. I thought it was strange that Jared insisted on carrying his guitar the whole 45-minute hike and up the mountain. It was threatening to rain, and I kept trying to convince him to leave it. He wouldn’t.

During the hike, the weather cleared up some, and Jared played the guitar while we made our way through the forest. We were both in great spirits even after the steep trip up at the end. We set up our tent on the soft grass on top of the mountain and went straight to our favorite spot: a big rock perfect for sitting on and enjoying the views.

Jared brought the guitar, and I settled in for some good music and staring at distant mountains. Within the first few strums of the guitar, I identified the song. He was playing “Whole Wide World” by Wreckless Eric. I immediately got a huge grin on my face because I had strongly “hinted” that Jared should play me this song when/if he proposed to me. Jared was cutely nervous and forgot some of the words, which was endearing. I still had that ridiculous grin on my face when he finished playing, and he told me to shut my eyes.

When he told me to open them, he was holding out a precious little box and said, “Will you marry me?”

I hesitated for two reasons. One, because Bonnie chose this moment to lick my face. Two, because Jared had threatened to propose with a ring pop, and it took me a moment to decide that the box was too small for a ring pop. But those things aside, this was a no-brainer, and I said…”Yes!”

He put the ring on my finger, and I was ecstatic that he remembered the kind I wanted. It’s a rough diamond. I love the unconventional yet beautiful look to it. Somebody looked at that diamond, and decided it was perfect just the way it was.

We celebrated with wine and talk about the future, and we decided that we are gonna be a really cute old couple some day. Then we struggled to make a fire with damp wood–and succeeded! But the wind was making crazy unpredictable smoke patterns that make it almost impossible to go near the fire, so we just ate chips on our rock and tried to see some shooting stars between gaps in the clouds.

In the morning, we were super lazy and had a great time just enjoying each others company. Jared surprised me again with a song he had written just for me. It was beautiful! He started tearing up while singing about how he’d hold me tight if the sky fell down on me, and it was just the sweetest moment in the world.

I am so happy that Jared and I found each other. I don’t know what I’d do without him!

3 thoughts on “The Engagement Story

  1. Ahhhhhhh, what a sweet story!! I don’t know Jared so I can’t say much about the deal you are getting, Sarah, but I know he is getting a wonderful woman (and since you are so exceptional, I’m sure you have also chosen a very special man)!!

  2. ROOMMATE!! So sweet!! So glad you found a man who would propose to you with the proper amount of care and consideration. The ring is STUNNING. Absolutely stunning. And so are the two of you.

Leave a Reply

