Vintage + Turquoise = Awesome

Last night I found myself perusing an amazing blog! Pinstrosity. The conclusion that I drew from this site is that there need to be more simple DIY projects here on the world wide web. So here is one that would be pretty hard to mess up:

A while back I found some cool Pepsi crates at the Tobacco Barn Antique store in Asheville for $12. But I’m pretty sure you can find something similar at any decently junk-packed antique store anywhere.

I have been yearning to paint something turquoise for a while, and yellow and turquoise are definitely best friends. So I found some turquoise spray paint at Lowe’s.

The yellow paint was already peeling in an awesomely authentic vintage way, but I didn’t want to mess it up too much more. So, I blocked off the parts I wanted to keep turquoise-free with paper and tape.

I recommend wearing clothes that you don’t mind getting paint on. My fingers may have looked Smurfy after this project, but my clothes were fine.

Then you just spray the paint. Follow the directions on the can. It’s pretty freakin easy. The only thing I would have changed was to use painter’s tape instead of masking tape. A little bit of yellow paint came off with the tape, and a small amount of turquoise leaked through.

This might not be a Pinterest-worthy craft, but it’s really easy, so hopefully nobody will end up making a craft-strosity out of it. I think I’m going to use them as shelves or something.

Leave a Reply

