Hit & Run & DIY

It could have been a lot worse for both us and the perpetrator. We could have lost our whole fence, and they could have lost their life. But let me start at the beginning…

On Friday night, Jared and I went to see the new Batman movie (which was really good). When we were driving up to the house, I noticed that our fence looked a little bit rearranged. Like this:

Image

The vehicle drove so far into our yard that the driver’s side hit the power pole. I’m guessing that alcohol had to be involved.

I’ve never been the victim of a hit and run before, but the whole thing was really getting to me. I guess what bothers me most is that they thought they could run away and get away with it, and that they were right.

I tried my best to track them down. Called the police, asked neighbors, researched the numbers on the headlight they left behind. All I know is that it was an early 90s champagne-colored Ford Explorer that is now missing a driver’s side headlight. But I think it’s pretty hopeless. I’ll have to trust that somewhere down the line life will bite them in the booty for this.

One consolation is that their car repairs are probably going to cost a lot more than what it cost us to fix the fence! Let’s switch tracks from sad story blog to DIY blog now. All we had to do was buy new posts, 2×4’s, some screws, and a bunch of those skinny post things. Here’s a breakdown of the cost:

Posts $9.48

Skinny Things $26.50

Quikrete $4.48

2x4x8s $13.56

Screws $15

637 Bug Bites

2 Afternoons

3 Trips to Home Improvement Stores

1 Blister

Total: $69.02

Image

4 thoughts on “Hit & Run & DIY

  1. Hey, that looks perfect! Jorge and I could never pull that off.

    Sorry it happened, but like you said, it could have been much worse. I’m sure some serious karma is going to catch up to the perpetrators.

Leave a comment